Best Buy and social listening – customer service part II

So in my last post I did a little venting about my experience with the Best Buy customer service. After sitting on the phone for over 45 minutes and no resolution, I actually went to the Best Buy location and walked around until I found the appropriate folks to assist me. Now I will say that the car installers (I was having a radio installed) were professional and very courteous. But even they told me that they had informed the folks manning the customer service desk that if I called, to inform me that the part I had ordered was in and I could bring my car in for service. That would have been nice…if they picked up the phone!

My next option…being a good social marketer…was to vent directly to Best Buy via twitter: @BestBuy @BestBuyCMO. Again to Best Buy’s credit, @Coral_BestBuy reached out to me via Twitter. I shared my experience and was told the situation would be looked into and my complaints relayed to the Best Buy in question. I will wait to see if the suggestions will be taken to heart, however I at least have some closure that my complaints were heard and addressed. This is a simple example of why companies and consumer brands must take social marketing seriously – meaning don’t simply give this job to someone who already has a full time gig or simply look for a stop gap solution aka an intern.

B2B companies must not look at this and say “well Best Buy is a B2C company and need to be more aware of this channel…” Wrong answer. B2B must be jut as tuned in to the social channels as Best Buy. For example, I recently attended a Gartner conference on supply chain….yawn for some of us, very exciting for supply chain folks like myself! What struck me was that Gartner was very lax on their tweeting from the event, really did not seem to have given it a thought. Why does this matter? They were not influencing the discussion on Twitter, not responding to what attendees, such as myself, were tweeting and discussing. Rather than promoting a Gartner tweet as the “go to” source for updates from the conference, folks were promoting individuals (not affiliated with Gartner) to get insight into what was happening. Now, that is a good thing – independent attendees giving their thoughts, but Gartner needed to have a voice in the conversation. Had they been more aware and more active with what was being said, they could have created a residual effect and thought promotion from the content they were disseminating during the conference. While I did not see anything negative being tweeted, Gartner lost an opportunity to push content and thinking via social. Missed opportunity.

Kudos to Best Buy, they understand the importance of watching the social channels. We still have a long way to go before more companies recognize the importance of this channel.

Leave a comment

Filed under Social media, Supply Chain, Technology

Leave a Reply

